Annual Events

  • Home
  • Training & Events
  • Annual Events

Truck Safety & Education Symposium

The New York State Truck Safety and Education Symposium is a successful public-private partnership, hosted by the Trucking Association of New York (TANY), the NYS Department of Motor Vehicles, the NYS Department of Transportation, the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee, and the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. It is the New York State premier truck safety event, providing attendees with the latest information on issues and compliance initiatives facing the trucking industry.

    Safety Symposium 2019 Photo Gallery

      Truck Driving Championships 2019 Photo Gallery

      Truck Driving Championships & Step Van Competition (TDC)

      TDC was developed to promote safety on the highways through an exhibition of skill, professionalism and safe handling of a commercial motor vehicle.

      Competitors participate in a written exam, pre-trip inspection exam and skills course consisting of six obstacles. Each entering driver is eligible to compete in one (1) out of nine (9) classes offered: step van, straight truck, 3-axle, 4-axle, 5-axle, flatbed, tank trailer, twin trailers and sleeper berth.

      Trophies are awarded to the top three drivers in each class, rookie of the year, highest scores on the written exam and pre-trip inspection, highest overall score and the company team with the highest overall score. A team must have a minimum of three (3) competitors.

      In lieu of the 2021 in-person event being cancelled, TANY hosted a virtual Battle of the States on July 31. Congratulations to the top 10 who went on to compete in the virtual Nationals!

      1. James Kohr - FedEx Express
      2. Scott Barber - HazMat Environmental Group, Inc.
      3. Mark Cooper - HazMat Environmental Group, Inc.
      4. Jefforey DeLawyer - Walmart Transportation
      5. Jason Germain - Shaker Logistics
      6. Jason R. Vosburgh - Walmart Transportation
      7. Tim Schultz - Walmart Transportation
      8. Robin McCaffery - Walmart Transportation
      9. Harold Coleates - Walmart Transportation
      10. Tyrrel Williams - George Hildebrandt, Inc.

      Congratulations to Jim Kohr for placing 3rd in the National competition! Final standings from the National competition are available here

      Registration for the June 10-11 in-person event will be open April 20 to May 13. We look forward to seeing everyone in Syracuse!

      The SuperTech Competition

      The SuperTech Competition is New York State’s premier heavy vehicle technician event and brings together technicians to test their diagnostic abilities, hands-on problem-solving skills, determination and resolve.

      The training session is taught by Master Trainer Swede Oun of O & K Truck Repairs, Ltd., certified through New York State’s Automotive Technicians Training Program, and author of numerous maintenance publications.

      The competition includes both a written test and skills tests in air brakes, annual inspection procedures, coolant and DEF, cybersecurity, drive belts, electrical, engines, fasteners, hydraulics, preventative maintenance, tire analysis, and wheel end. Plaques are awarded to the top three technicians in each category as well as the overall winner. Additionally, hundreds of dollars in prizes will be awarded to the top finishers.

      Registration for the June 10-11 in-person event will be open April 20 to May 13. We look forward to seeing everyone in Syracuse!

        Supertech Competition 2019 Photo Gallery

          Annual Management Conference 2021 Photo Gallery

          Annual Management Conference

          TANY’s Annual Management Conference brings together New York’s top and up-and-coming industry leaders. Full of valuable and timely educational sessions, an exhibit hall and plenty of networking opportunities, this is an event not to be missed.

          Next year's event will be held at the Pearl River Hilton in Pearl River, NY. Save the date - September 18-20, 2022!